About carer ID 11343

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11343

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Hearing Impairment, Mental Health -Section 117, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x1

Location

  • Torbay

About us

Karen lives in Torquay in a large semi-detached Victorian house.  She shares her home with her 3 adult children and their elderly large black labrador dog Max, who is calm and gentle.

Karen has been a Shared Lives Carer with us since 2014 and has provided short breaks or respite and then for the last 6 years a long term placement.  This individual has moved on and Karen is hoping to be able to offer regular breaks or a long term arrangement to someone else.

Karen has many years experience of working with adults with learning disabilities, autism, sensory impairments and mental health issues.  She works at a local college for young people with a wide range of disabilities and is a tutor there who specialises particularly in IT and building and maintaining healthy relationships.

Please note for any matching – Karen works in term times from Mon to Fri outside of the home.

Karen’s particular expertise prioritises supporting people to develop their independence in order to be able to build on their skills and to provide more opportunities for developing and learning and being part of the community and society as a whole.

The household is a quiet and calm one, where there is warmth and laughter.  The house is situated near the Gulls Football Pitch in Plainmoor and so has access to local shops, buses, trains, swimming pools, clubs, beaches, pubs and all the other opportunities provided in a sea side town.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital –
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – calm/quiet
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – no