About carer ID 11717

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11717

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Hearing Impairment, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Sight Impairment, Acquired Brain Injury, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x2

Location

  • Cornwall

About us

Mary lives in a large detached bungalow with her husband Alan who’s a support carer and their cat. The house is in quiet residential road in Saltash but with easy access to local shops/leisure facilities as well as Plymouth, beaches and Dartmoor.
There are 3-4 shallow steps up to property. There is a large open-plan kitchen/diner/lounge where they enjoy cooking, eating and socialising. There are two respite rooms available and a shared bathroom with a walk-in shower and bath. Outside there is a small garden to the rear with steps up to a lawned area where they keep chickens.
Mary and Alan enjoy an active yet relaxed lifestyle which includes a variety of activities including surfing, cycling, swimming, eating out, cinema as well as trips in their camper van to the beach or Dartmoor with a picnic. They have family nearby who often pop in.
Mary and Alan were previously foster carers who supported a young person through to adulthood and independence.
Mary has experience supporting individuals with differing needs including learning disability, autism, mental health support needs, acquired brain injuries and sensory impairments.
This vacancy would suit someone who is fairly independent but might want support to develop their life skills further; or someone looking for more of a holiday experience. Mary is very happy to tailor breaks to suit the interests of the person staying. She is open to regular short breaks or longer stays -her availability varies depending on current bookings.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital – yes
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – varied
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – no