About carer ID 12610

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12610

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Dementia, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Acquired Brain Injury, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x2

Location

  • Devon

About us

Greg and Alex are joint carers and live in a large, detached bungalow with extensive gardens where they grow veg and keep chickens. They have two friendly dogs, Marty a Jack Russell terrier and Dot a Border Collie. It is a peaceful, rural setting only a short walk from the rugged North Devon coastline.
The bungalow has fairly level access for those with mobility issues though not wheelchair accessible. There is a respite room in the main house plus a spacious self-contained annexe with walk-in en-suite shower room plus kitchenette.
Both Greg and Alex enjoy dog-walking in the Valley of the Rocks to see the wild goats; the cinema or eating out and enjoying the surrounding countryside.
Lynton village is nearby with a friendly community and there are many places to visit within easy reach including the cliff railway and Exmoor zoo. Alex is an artist and she enjoys painting and crafts as well as cooking (including vegetarian/vegan.) Greg likes gardening and maintaining the house.
Both are warm and person-centred carers and happy to tailor any breaks to the person’s needs and preferences. Greg is a qualified Learning Disability nurse with many years experience of working in the community. Alex is a trained nurse with extensive experience supporting people with a range of needs. Both were previously Shared Lives carers in another part of the country.
They can support individuals with a learning disability, autism, acquired brain injury, mental health needs and older persons. They enjoy supporting people to increase their independent living skills as well as offering a relaxing escape/holiday experience away from a person’s usual routine. Their current availability is for longer breaks rather than regular (ie weekly monthly) respite.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital – yes
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – rural
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – calm/quiet
  • Ground Floor – yes
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – no