About carer ID 13126

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13126

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x1

Location

  • Torbay

About us

About Me –  My name is Charmaine.  I have been a foster carer with Childrens Services for 12 years and Shared Lives South West for over 3 years.  I have supported a young lady for 6 years with Children Services and then Shared Lives.  She is part of our family and is still living with us now.  I have cared for many young people of all ages and who had many different support needs and behavioural issues.  I like to give one to one support in a calm and nurturing home.  I am flexible with interests and activities.  I enjoy getting to know someone and building a friendship.  I especially like arts and crafts cooking, gardening, eating out, cinema, shopping, anything with animals, park and beach walks with my poodles and also just chilling out at home watching a film!       

The Local Area –  Paignton is a seaside town and a family friendly holiday resort.  It has lovely sandy beaches, many parks and seaside attractions. Paignton has a good town centre with many cafes restaurants and shops, there is also a cinema and zoo.     

Where We Live and About Us –  I live with a young lady I support, my daughter is at university and she comes home sometimes at weekends and in the holidays.  I have two well behaved, small, cute dogs.  We live on the edge of the town centre, a couple of minute’s walk to the shops, places to eat, train and bus stations, beaches and parks the cinema and zoo.  We are a quiet, easy-going family and it is usually just me in on my own through the day.  We live in a 4 bedroom semi-detached house in a quiet cul de sac.  We have a lovely bright single room on the first floor which is available for short breaks and respite.  The house has a back and front garden and a huge swing bench and table where we like to sit outside.

Who I am able to support – I am looking to support another lady, who has a Learning Disability and/or Autism.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital –
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – no
  • Environment – calm/quiet
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – unknown
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – yes