About carer ID 13228

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13228

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x1

Location

  • Devon

About us

About us
We are Helen and Nick and we have been carers many years.

About our house
We live in a modern town house on three floors with a large garden. We have a large frontroom on the 2nd floor with a balcony over looking the garden.
We also have two pug dogs that love going for walks.

Who else lives here?
Two young ladies in Shared Lives live here and another young lady on Staying Put.
Helen’s son Aaron is at university in Cardiff and comes to stay for short visits.
Two Pug dogs also live here, they are called Mika and Biscuit.

What we like to do
Cycling and walking
Family gatherings and birthday parties
Eating out
Holidays around the UK in the motorhome
Holidays abroad in the sun.
We love to watch films on cold wet evenings
We both enjoy being very active, the other young ladies in the home mainly do their own things.

Our experience as a carer
We have worked for many years with young people in fostering. Supporting with complex needs and learning independence skills…

We love being able to support young people gaining independence in their lives.

Who we can support
Young women with autism and/or learning difficulties.

Local area and community
We live in the St Thomas area with many shops and social activities.
We are in walking distance of the city centre and Exeter Quay. There are regular bus routes around the city from nearby.
A short walk away is a gym and swimming pool and a bowling alley.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital –
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – no
  • Environment – noisy/active
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – yes