About carer ID 14928

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 14928

This vacancy would suit…

Mental Health, Dementia, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Sight Impairment

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term & Short Break x1
  • Short Break Only x1

Location

  • Devon

About us

About the Carer: A brand new fantastic Carer who is looking to support an older person. Andrea is a very giving and relaxed person with lots of experience caring formally and informally. Who else lives here: She lives with her husband and 11 year old daughter and other family are about regularly. They have 4 friendly Jack Russell working dogs who predominantly live outside but sometimes do like to sneak in and cosy up by the fire. There are a few puppies at present too! As they live on a working organic dairy farm, there are many cows, as well as chickens, ducks, ponies and soon to be sheep too! About the house: In a stunning rural location at Witheridge. On a fairly level site, it is a spacious 4 bed detached bungalow with 3 double bedrooms. There is 1 large bathroom with a level access shower as well as a bath. There is also a separate WC. There is a ramp to the rear of the property. There is a large garden with flower borders and vegetable patch. What they like to do: I’m an active person and like to be busy doing something even if it is just doing housework. The farming lifestyle is varied and interesting; no two days are the same. My interests are of course cows, grooming and walking the horses, gardening, cooking, upcycling furniture, wordsearches, and always up for something new. We like going for a drive occasionally to the moors or beach or pop out for lunch. Experience as a Carer: Lots of experience supporting older adults in their own homes, as well as living with and caring for family members. She has supported older adults, people with Dementia, who have had Strokes, with hearing and visual impairments, mental health needs, and physical disabilities. Who she can support: An older adult. Due to working on the farm, individuals would need to be okay being left on their own for some periods throughout the day. (Carer usually up to feed calves at 8am (30-45 mins), and about 4pm (30-45 mins)). There may be occasions she is needed out on the farm for longer, but there will be other family members becoming ‘Support Carers’ who could step in to support if required. Location: The property is in a rural location approx. 2 miles from the village of Witheridge where there are shops, a church, a pub and post office. Carer said “Witheridge has a great pub and a great caring community always looking out for each other. Has a coffee shop, plenty of fetes and charity get togethers throughout the year, also has a Spar shop with post office”. There is a local café where they have regular meet ups. South Molton is 9 miles away, and Tiverton 12 miles away where there are more facilities such as supermarkets. There is a bus stop at the end of the road (approx ½ mile) for the South Molton, Witheridge, Tiverton bus route.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital – yes
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – rural
  • Smoking – unknown
  • Environment – calm/quiet
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – yes
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – no