Alex and Greg

About carer ID 12609

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12609

Carer name(s)

Alex and Greg

This vacancy would suit…

People looking for regular breaks.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Rural – isolated

 

About us

We are Alex and Greg and we are kind, friendly people who enjoy helping people gain confidence and independence.

About our house

We live in a large detached bungalow which we have renovated with a new large en-suite guest room. The bathroom has a floor level shower unit and toilet and basin.
Our home is comfortable and welcoming with a large garden where we have a vegetable plot and chickens.

Who else lives here?

Our daughter Rosie lives with us. She is in her 20s and works in Lynton.

We have two friendly dogs, Marty the Jack Russell terrier and Dot the Border Collie.

What we like to do

Alex is an artist and likes to paint and make beautiful crafts like cushions and artwork. She also likes cooking and meals are vegetarian, vegan or meat based.
Greg likes gardening and maintaining the house.
Both Greg and Alex like walking the dogs along to Valley of the Rocks to see the wild goats; talking to the people in the village; seeing a film or eating out, and enjoying the North Devon countryside.

Our experience as a carer

We were both Shared Lives carers in Surrey before moving to North Devon where we have been coming for family holidays for many years.
We enabled a woman with learning disabilities to become a valued part of the local community with her boyfriend and many interesting activities.
Greg is a qualified Learning Disability nurse with many years experience of working in the community. Alex is a trained nurse with years of experience working with different people.

Who we can support

People with learning disabilities looking for a break where they can do new activities.
People with autism who may like a change of routine.
People with mental health troubles who would like a break away from it all.
People with different disabilities and older people who would like a special holiday.
We can support people in Home from Hospital if appropriate for our setting.

Local area and community

We like living in Lynton which is a friendly village with helpful people. There are a few shops and a minor injuries unit which could be helpful in a crisis. Also we can do trips out to Exmoor Zoo, Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway,
Steam train on Lynton and Barnstaple Railway,
Dinosaur Park and Honey Farm.
When we are out in our garden, people often stop to chat so we know a lot of local people now.
Large towns like Minehead and Barnstaple are about 45 minutes drive away for a visit and for shopping.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult
  • Reablement / home from hospital
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment