Ann and Roger

About carer ID 11462

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11462

Carer name(s)

Ann and Roger

This vacancy would suit…

An active individual who would enjoy the country life

This vacancy is…

  • Respite for Shared Lives Carers
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible
  • Rural

About us

Our names are Ann and Roger

About our house

We live in a fabulous detached five bedroomed farmhouse which is 200 years old. There is a fully enclosed rear garden and about half a mile down a country lane we own an additional five acres ‘garden’ which is made up of fields and woodland with a small river running through it

Who else lives here?

Apart from the two of us we have two dachshunds called Sheldon and Amy and a parrot called George, a cat and some chickens. We also have three sons who are frequent visitors

What we like to do

We live very active lives. Roger’s hobbies include:

  • renovating Stained Glass windows
  • woodworking
  • gardening and horticulture
  • hedgelaying
  • working on our five acres of land

Ann is a volunteer at the local community shop and her hobbies include:

  • arts and crafts
  • baking
  • swimming
  • aqua aerobics
  • shopping
  • reading
  • watching Documentaries on TV

Together we love to walk our two dogs

Our experience as carers

Ann has worked with people with learning difficulties for over 25 years. We have both been Scout and Beaver leaders so have experience of working with younger people. Roger has supported Ann in running a community café which was run by volunteers with learning disabilities and mental health illnesses

Who we can support

We are keen to share our lives and hobbies with any individual who would be interested to join in with us, and would like to have a ‘go’ at things

Local area and community

Exbourne is a small village, we have:

  • a village hall
  • pub/restaurant
  • a church
  • and shop/Post Office

You are close to the Tarka trail, a cycle/footpath trail around North Devon. Although rural Exbourne is within commuting distance of:

  • Bideford
  • Barnstaple
  • Crediton
  • Okehampton
  • Hatherleigh
  • and Torrington

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Respite for Shared Lives Carers