Caroline and Simon

About carer ID 107

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 107

Carer name(s)

Caroline and Simon

This vacancy would suit…

People who may need a quiet break or time and space to find their confidence in a safe, caring family home.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Non-smoking household
  • Household includes pets
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

Our names are Caroline and Simon.

About our house

We live in a bungalow which has had extensions to accommodate a cabin and extra bedroom. We have a cosy lounge and a bright conservatory where we enjoy sitting around the table for our meals. We have an extensive garden where work is always in progress.

Who else lives here?

An older man lives (with our support) in the adjoining cabin (just next door), joining us for meals and activities. Under Shared Lives, one man lives with us in the bungalow and we have two short break bedrooms. Ecca, our daughter is starting University 2019 therefore will be returning throughout the year. We share our home with Harley the Spaniel, Oscar the Jack Russell, Rosie the cat, Mary the Hamster and 4 chickens in the garden.

What we like to do

Caroline enjoys supporting people in the community, going to local events or further afield on buses and trains and trying new activities. She enjoys Yoga, Tai Chi, swimming, walking and reading.

Simon enjoys introducing people to gardening, creating flower beds and wild flower meadow, vegetable and fruit growing including an apple orchard. He likes to use their produce to create family meals, apple juice, jams alongside home made bread. Simon is a bee keeper and some people enjoy helping with the process of jarring up the honey. He also enjoys reading, mountain hiking and helping the environment, planting for insects.

Our experience as carers

Caroline holds a Social Work qualification and an NVQ level 4 in Care.

Simon holds a certificate in Therapeutic Social Horticulture, RHS Diploma, Post 16 Teaching Qualification and TAP 1 Youth Worker qualification. We also enjoy working alongside people with Autism and Mental Health Issues and have both attended courses on Dementia and Epilepsy.

Who we can support

This vacancy would suit a reasonably active person who needs support to develop and achieve goals. We would work to source meaningful activities and support a person to structure their life and work towards greater independence and autonomy.

Local area and community

Colebrooke Village has a Church, a Village Hall which hosts concerts and fairs, Yoga, Tai Chi, Badminton Club and Short Mat Bowls. There is a local pub which hosts monthly folk singing sessions. Crediton is a lively town with a Farmer’s Market, Town Band, Arts Centre, Theatre Groups, Church activities, a drop-in disco and day services for people and a sports/leisure centre.

We live on the Two Moors Way walking path so have lovely walks through woods and the countryside on our doorstep, going to sleep with owls hooting and waking up to birds singing. We run a gardening group 2 days a week.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Mental health
  • Learning disability
  • Older adult