Christine

About carer ID 13237

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13237

Carer name(s)

Christine

This vacancy would suit…

People with restricted mobility due to level access and accommodation available on the ground floor.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Breaks
  • Daytime Services

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non smoking household.

 

About us

Hi! I’m Christine and I live with my family in a spacious and welcoming home which I’d love to open to others looking for short breaks and/or daytime support if needed.

About our house

We live in a beautifully-presented and extended modern 4-bedroom detached house in the lovely village of Marldon just outside Paignton. The property is suitable for people with restricted mobility due to almost level access -there is a very small step up into the property. On the ground floor there is a double bedroom and separate bathroom with a walk-in shower. The second double bedroom is upstairs with a bathroom across the landing (with bath and shower over).
We have a spacious kitchen-diner which includes a separate comfy seating area with TV. This is the heart of our home and where we spend most of our time chatting and enjoying meals together. There are doors leading straight onto the level patio outside where there are sofas to relax on in the summer. There are three steps up to the lawned area. We also have a separate lounge boasting beautiful views.

Who else lives here?

I live with my husband Lee who is a firefighter and builder (he is also responsible for all our home improvements!) Our daughter Aimee lives with us and is a student planning to go into nursing. We also have an 11-year old collie dog, Tess, who still loves to play plus two guinea pigs, Willow and Clover, who live in the garage but come in daily for cuddles and some exercise in their playpen!

What we like to do

As a family, we are quite active and love to go for walks with Tess, either in the local countryside or to one of the beaches nearby. We also enjoy going further afield to the moors and discovering new places. Other times, we enjoy going out for coffee or meals together or to visit local places of interest.
At home, I love baking and cooking whilst listening to music and spending time with my family and friends. Aimee and Lee have their own hobbies but we all enjoy time together, often cooking meals in the kitchen and having lots of fun and laughter. My daughter and I are vegetarian though my husband is not so we can easily cater for all requirements!

My experience as a carer

I have supported adults in Health and Social care for the past 12 years and worked in a variety of different care settings including domiciliary care, an acquired brain injury unit and in the community. I’m a very person-centred carer with experience in supporting individuals with a range of different needs and would welcome the opportunity to enable people to achieve their goals and become more independent.

Who we can support

Adults with learning disabilities, epilepsy, individuals with autism, dementia, acquired brain injury, hearing impairment, older adults, reablement, vulnerable parent, physical disabilities, sight impairment.

Local area and community

We live in a village on the outskirts of Paignton in South Devon. The village has two pubs, a post office and local hairdressers. The village hall hosts a variety of activities including dance, art, and sport clubs and the annual Apple Pie Fair held on the village green. Marldon has good bus links to Paignton, Brixham and Torquay, as well as good road links to Plymouth and Exeter. Marldon is set in a rural location with many country walks.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing Impairment / Deaf
  • Learning Disability
  • Older Adult
  • Reablement / home from hospital
  • Vulnerable Parent
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment