Dawn

About carer ID 933

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 933

Carer name(s)

Dawn

This vacancy would suit…

A Shared Lives guest who wants to be part of a welcoming family

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

My name is Dawn, I live with my husband Jason and my youngest son Thomas who is 15, we also have a Shared Lives guest

About our house

We live near Pool school, in Redruth, in a house tucked away in the corner of a cul-de-sac. We have a garden to the rear and a driveway at the front.

The available bedroom is upstairs, so any Shared Lives guest would need to be able to cope with stairs

Who else lives here?

Apart from the four of us, we have a small dog called Alfie

What we like to do

We like:

  • walking
  • eating out
  • visiting the cinema
  • and bowling trips

We love to socialise with other Shared Lives Families. I love baking and various crafts

Our experience as carers

I have worked in care for over 10 years, I was the first Mother and Baby placement for Shared Lives in Cornwall. I have worked with several people to enable them to move on successfully to more independent settings. I am currently supporting a lady on a long term basis and I regularly have people here for respite, with lots of requests for return visits

Who we can support

My experience is mainly working with people with a learning disability, but please feel free to contact me if you are looking for any other reason

Local area and community

Living in the corner of a cul-de-sac it is quite away from the hustle and bustle but only a short walk to the main bus route that runs through Pool. By car we are close to joining the A30 to either Penzance or Truro. Tehidy is about a mile away providing great walks, if you prefer the beach, Portreath is approximately three miles away. We are spoilt for choice with the shops around us with:

  • bakeries
  • supermarkets
  • restaurants
  • and pubs

Pool has a doctor’s surgery and a chemist

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Sight impairment/loss