Dawn

About carer ID 811

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 811

Carer name(s)

Dawn

This vacancy would suit…

Anyone who is looking for a fun, family lifestyle with lots of social opportunities. I can support someone who would like to attend Duchy College for their education.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

Hi my name is Dawn. I am a vegan and practice holistic therapies including Reiki and Tuning Fork Therapy. I have been a Shared Lives Carer since 2009 and very much enjoy supporting people within my home.

I have 1 daughter and 2 sons who live nearby and regularly visit with their children and support me in my role.

About our house

My home is in the village of Pensilva near Liskeard. It is a cozy cottage with a wood burner and a large family kitchen where I enjoy cooking family meals.  I have a large garden where we enjoy spending time gardening and watching the chickens and collecting their eggs. There is a wildlife pond and a vegetable plot which can all be enjoyed by any person who comes to stay.

Who else lives here?

I live with another service user who I have supported for 3 years. I have 2 Boxer dogs Milly and Sky who are both very friendly and 9 Chickens.

What we like to do

I very much enjoy walking on the moors and going to the local village  pub with family and friends. I love to grow vegetables and plants in the garden. I am quite involved in the community of Pensilva and attend village events and activities. In the summer I enjoy going camping and visiting new places.

Our experience as carers

I have been a Shared Lives Carer for nearly 10 years, prior to Shared lives I have been a foster carer and have supported people with mental health conditions and learning disabilities. I have experience of supporting people to attend Duchy college to gain educational qualifications, and have worked with local work placement providers to give people opportunities to experience working life so that they can build on their skills and interests to go on to achieve their future independence.

Who we can support

I am able to support people with a learning disability who would be able to access a bedroom which is upstairs in my property. We offer a fun, family lifestyle with many opportunities for social, educational or work based activities.

Local area and community

Pensilva is a friendly village close to the towns of Liskeard and Callington. There is a regular bus to both larger towns – the bus stop is just outside my house.

Pensilva has a pub, Dr’s surgery, School, Community centre and a gym there are also a lot of activities put on inside the Millenium centre which include Arts and Crafts and a  Snooker Club.

Bodmin Moor is close by  with beautiful scenery and views of the countryside there are also accessible beaches within a hours drive from my home.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult