Debby

About carer ID 12583

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12583

Carer name(s)

Debby

This vacancy would suit…

Someone with a learning disability or some mental health needs

This vacancy is…

  • Long term

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

Other considerations

  • Quite central village between two busy towns

About us

My name is Debby and I have four children, one who still lives at home. I also have three grandchildren who visit regularly.

 

About our house

We live in a three bed room mid-terrace house within a cul-de-sac. There is a small front garden and a courtyard garden at the back. It is a lovely community minded neighbourhood.

Who else lives here?

I live with my daughter who is 25 and we also have a nine year old Staffordshire Bull Terrier called Roxy and a rabbit called Buddy.

What we like to do

I like to spend time with family and friends, doing gardening and visiting garden centres, walking, reading, music and enjoy all sorts of different crafts.

My experience as a carer

I have spent a few years as a domiciliary care worker, mainly caring for elderly people and those with dementia.

Who we can support

People with physical/learning disabilities.

Older people.

People with mental health issues and brain injuries.

Local area and community

Situated between Torquay and Newton Abbot, Kingskerswell is a growing village which has a doctor’s surgery with a pharmacy attached. It also has a library which hosts a variety of events.
There is a playing field with a large play park, a cricket club house which opens as a cafe regularly.  There are a few pubs and restaurants in walking distance and regular buses which travel between Brixham and Newton Abbot.

There is a voluntary community scheme where people can meet up and maintain flowerbeds and verges. There is also a Coop which is also involved in community programmes.

 

Contact us now for more details.

 

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments/deaf
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Long term