Gina

About carer ID 13732

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13732

Carer name(s)

Gina and Roger

This vacancy would suit…

Some one who likes the country. Likes the seaside. Short breaks and respite, in a family environment.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non smoking household

 

About us

I am Gina and my husband is Roger. We live with Shadow our big black cat.

About our house

We live in a family home built in 1920’s with a single bedroom for respite over looking fields. There are cows to the back of us and sheep to the front. We have a downstairs shower room. We have a sunny conservatory overlooking the garden and a quiet area in the garden with a pond and fish. Our home has 2 TV’s so watching your favourite programme is not a problem. We are in a quiet village but easy access to Burnham, Street, Glastonbury and Bridgwater.

Who else lives here?

We both live here with our large black cat. We do have visitors that like to have the odd barbie here.

What we like to do

  • Spend time with family.
  • Have bar b q’s.
  • We like gardening and cooking.
  • We sometimes like a night out with entertainment
  • Walking.
  • Cycling.
  • Visiting new places.

Our experience as a carer

We have a son with autism which gives us lots of first hand knowledge.
I (Gina) have worked as a Manager in Supported Housing for so many years, supporting all walks of life.

I started in the care industry when I was 17 working in a school with children with LD/Autism.
My current job is working with people with Autism and LD. I find and support people into work.

Who we can support

I have experience in supporting people with Physical disabilities, Learning disabilities, people with Autism and Asperger’s, older people and people with a sight loss. I am level 1 BSL so can support some one who is deaf.

Local area and community

Small village with a village hall and church hall with bingo, dance classes and keep fit, and gardening.
Walking distance to the river walk and lake.
Burnham on sea with the sea front is a short car or bus ride away, as is Street and Glastonbury and Wells.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Hearing Impairment / Deaf
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult
  • Reablement / home from hospital
  • Vulnerable Parent
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment