Helga

About carer ID 12030

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12030

Carer name(s)

Helga

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who loves the Country, animals and peaceful surroundings.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Rural – isolated

About us

My name is Helga I have 2 grown up children, 1 of who lives at home – Harrison who has Asperger’s. I have enjoyed watching Harrison grow into wonderful independent young man and would like to offer our happy home up to others to share our experience and enhance our lives.

About our house

A spacious bungalow on a country lane with level, easy access front and back gardens. The home overlooks both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor, with cows and sheep grazing in the fields.

Who else lives here?

Craig is my husband and Harrison my son who is 25.
Preston and Alice our tiny Yorkshire terriers and Edward the Cow in the field who enjoys eating carrots and having his hair brushed!

What we like to do

Walking our doggies, days out to the beach and getting a bite to eat for lunch
I enjoy spending time outside with my animals and in the garden
I enjoy meeting up with friends and meeting new people
In the evening Harrison helps us pick a good movie to watch as a family and we enjoy eating some nibbles and spending time together as a family.

Our experience as carers

I have previously worked in a hospital setting and spent time volunteering in day centres for people with a learning disability. Preston and Alice were assessed as therapy dogs with Caring Canines and we visited local residential care homes together to give people the opportunity to bring happiness to their lives.
I have been a parent carer for 25 years and am very proud of my son’s achievements.

Who we can support

Anybody who would like to come and have a break in the country.

Local area and community

In our village we have 2 pubs, a post office and a shop.
There is a village hall a short walk/drive away with numerous activities through the week i.e. youth club, chatterbox, 10 pin bowling etc
There is a village church with community events and regular services
There is a local bus service to Launceston which is 10 minutes away. In Launceston there are larger supermarkets, chain stores, a leisure centre and day opportunities for people to access.
Bude beach is a 20 minute drive away, Bodmin shopping centre is also 20 minutes away.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability