Irene

About carer ID 11723

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11723

Carer name(s)

Irene

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who would like to have an active break.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

About us

My name is Irene.

About our house

My home is in a pleasant area of Brixham. It’s a lovely sunny dormer bungalow which has recently been refurbished and extended. My home is wheelchair accessible, and has a lovely level and accessible garden with a newly built summer house. I have two bedrooms available for Shared Lives guests.

Who else lives here?

Just me.

What we like to do

I am an outgoing and sociable person who enjoys plenty of different activities. I like to plan activities depending on what my Shared Lives guests would like to do, or are interested in.

This may include boat trips, going out for coffee or lunch, going out on day trips, swimming, theatre and cinema visits.  One of my Shared Lives guests wanted to visit Liverpool, so we went on a coach trip staying for four nights in a hotel, with lots of activities and fun each day.  We both really enjoyed this trip.

I also enjoy crocheting, visiting Brixham harbour and local beaches and spending time with my large family.

Our experience as carers

I have a great many years of experience as a carer supporting people with differing physical needs, learning disabilities and with complex medical/support needs. I like to make people feel welcome in my home and to offer people experiences tailored to suit their needs and interests.

Who we can support

I have a good understanding and experience of working with people with acquired brain injuries, physical disabilities, autism and learning disabilities.  I am trained in PEG feeding and can manage quite complex health conditions and epilepsy.

Local area and community

Brixham is a picturesque bustling harbour town with lots of activities for everyone. There are art and craft markets, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, boat trips, cafes, library and much more.  There are lots of beaches locally.  Paignton Zoo is also close by.  There is also a very frequent bus service to the local towns of Paignton, Torquay and Newton Abbot.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Older adult
  • Parents with Support Needs
  • Physical disability
  • Re-ablement and home from hospital
  • Sight impairment/loss