Jan

About carer ID 94

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 94

Carer name(s)

Jan

This vacancy would suit…

Someone looking for a sociable, friendly household with access to activities and day services

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non smoking household

About me

Jan is a single carer with years of experience working with people with disabilities.

About my house

Jan’s home is a very well presented detached house with four bedrooms. There are patio doors in the living room that leads out to a flat lawned garden.

There is an upstairs and downstairs bathroom, a kitchen, dining room and a large living room with a big TV and comfortable sofas.

Who else lives here?

Jan lives here with two other ladies who also use SLSW services and her 12 year old adopted daughter.

She has four dogs:  Vinnie, Lilly, Maggie and Babs. All are incredibly social, calm and loving.

What we like to do

They all have a really good routine which includes going to the nearby market towns of Hatherleigh, Holsworthy and Tavistock, getting their hair done and going in to the shops.

There are lots of opportunities in the local area for day services and activities and Jan currently works closely with Madewell Farm to support the ladies who live with her.

Jan can support people who would like to do any activities available in the community including swimming, horse riding, attending day services or accessing the local community.

Our experience as a carer

Jan has been a Shared Lives Carer since 2005. She has supported lots of different people with different needs including Learning disabilities, Brain Injuries, Korsakoff Syndrome, Dementia and Mental health conditions.

I hold a wealth of experience and will support you to live as independently as you can and achieve your goals.

Who we can support

  • Brain injury
  • Dementia
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental health condition
  • Physical disability (bedrooom is downstairs)

Local area and community

Jan lives in a quiet village but we have services such as swimming, day services and horse riding available within a 10 minute car ride. The house is 20 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from Dartmoor. Bus stops and shops can be found in the small neighboring towns and Jan is always happy to support you to access public transport, and the community to help you to be independent.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Brain injury
  • Autism
  • Learning Disability
  • Hearing impairment/deaf
  • Mental ill health
  • Physical disability (bedrooom is downstairs)
  • Reablement/home from hospital
  • Sight impairment