Jill and Jason

About carer ID 11681

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11681

Carer name(s)

Jill and Jason

This vacancy would suit…

An animal lover who would enjoy the scenic views, with plenty to do

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household

About us

We are Jill and Jason

About our house

We live in a semi rural location on the outskirts of Brixham and Kingswear, near fields and countryside. The house is light and airy and we have had the house extended and adapted specifically to provide accessible accommodation. There is a shower room and stair lift if needed.
We have a pretty garden with lots of flowers – Jason is a landscape gardener! There are pleasant rural views from the house. We have three bedrooms for Share Lives guests

Who else lives here?

Apart from the two of us we have two dogs: Jen and Tia, our rabbit Molly, and currently have three horses: Forest, Benson and Folly

What we like to do

We enjoy:

  • caring for our horses
  • shopping
  • gardening
  • swimming
  • visiting local beaches
  • and days out such as Cockington in Torquay

Jason loves trains and if any Shared Lives guest shares this interest, he likes to visit railways all over Devon and Cornwall. Jason also has a train track, at home, that he gets out if a guest is interested.

We will enjoy finding out what our Shared Lives guests are interested in, and what they would like to do, and then make arrangements to facilitate this.

We enjoy having our family visiting, including our young grandchildren

Our experience as carers

Jill has many years experience as a carer and assistant service manager, working directly with people who have a wide range of disabilities, particularly people with very complex learning and physical disabilities.

Jason works as a landscape gardener, including many years working at a residential home for people with learning disabilities

Who we can support

We can support people with physical and learning disabilities

Local area and community

In Brixham there are:

  • a bustling harbour
  • art and craft markets
  • lots of coffee shops
  • indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • and ferries over to Torquay and Paignton

There is also a frequent bus service to Paignton, Torquay and Newton Abbot.

Kingswear has a beautiful harbour and just over the water is Dartmouth,
home to the famous Naval college. You also have the scenic train ride to Paignton

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Accessible for people reduced mobility
  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Parents with Support Needs
  • Physical disability
  • Sight impairment/loss