John and Lesley

About carer ID 260

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 260

Carer name(s)

John and Lesley

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who would like a relaxing break or a period of recuperation before returning home from hospital.

This vacancy is…

  • Home from Hospital
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household

About us

We are Lesley and John and we live in a very large old house near the Harbour in Torquay.

We love sharing our home and lives with one Shared Lives guest and would like to be able to give somebody else the opportunity to have a holiday with us, or some recuperation time after a hospital stay.

About our house

The home is close to amenities with a ten minute walk from the picturesque harbour, cafes, shops and the sea front. They have a good sized garden, which is the perfect place to relax. There is a steep hill up to the house, however there are no steps in the property or the garden.

Who else lives here?

We have one man with learning disabilities who lives with us through Shared Lives.  He is very gentle and quietly sociable.

We also have Lesley’s mum, who is in her 80’s and is in the early stages of dementia.

We also have our youngest son Tom.  He is a young adult and very independent but he and our Shared Lives person are great buddies and enjoy hanging out together.

We also have a pretty little spaniel dog, Tilly.  She may be 8 but she is full of life and very friendly.

What we like to do

We are real home birds.  John loves his garden and spends many hours working outside or doing jobs round the house.  Lesley tends to do her household chores and then she and their Shared Lives person then like to go out 3 or 4 times per week in the afternoon for a spot of lunch or a coffee, a walk on the flat on the seafront in Torquay or Teignmouth and a wander round the shops.

Our experience as carers

We have been carers for over 20 years, having owned a retirement home before becoming Shared Lives carers in 2007.  Our current gentleman has lived with us since 2008 and we have supported several other people over the years for short breaks and respite.

Who we can support

People who might be Home from Hospital and need somewhere to stay and be looked after until they are able to return home.

People with learning disabilities and older adults.

Someone with mobility issues.

Local area and community

Torquay has beaches, shops, a hospital, cinema and lots of cafes and restaurants.

There are train stations and lots of regular buses.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult