Jonathan

About carer ID 1344

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 1344

Carer name(s)

Jonathan

This vacancy would suit…

Those in recovery from mental health or addiction issues and individuals looking for more independence and developing their own life skills.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Break

About us

I have experience with being both a paid, unpaid and a Shared Lives carer. I have qualifications in counselling and good local contacts. I believe totally in the idea of Shared Lives and am happy to create and support opportunities for individuals. I have in the last few years done this for people by doing things from accompanying them to groups, medical appointment (both physiological and physical) and acting as an Appropriate Adult at the police station.

I enjoy talking and listening, there are no subjects that are “off limits”. I welcome new thoughts and ideas. I try to be as laidback and flexible as possible. The atmosphere I try to create with anyone staying with me is we are just “two people sharing a house”. That said I am always around to offer support, encouragement, help and a listening ear when needed. I believe this offers total support with new experiences or on difficult days but provide the space individual to develop.

About our house

A Three bedroom house, Large 65 inch Satellite TV in lounge, quite a few gadgets I am a boy and I like my toys. Wi-Fi, friendly neighbours, large garden at rear with it own spring.

Who else lives here?

No one else permanently the third bedroom is used for occasional other guests who I provide respite for.

What we like to do

Watch sport, take part in local groups (I help run a local mental health drama group, I attend a meditation group and am also a School Governor) listening to music, art and cooking.

Our experience as carers

I am experienced in supporting a varied range of individuals with issues of mental health, learning difficulties, ADHD, behavioural problems, Autism and substance misuse.

Who we can support

I am happy to support anyone who is actively engaged with their recovery or has learning difficulties.

Local area and community

Ellacombe is very near the centre of Torbay only a ten minute walk away. There is a park opposite the house. Torquay United football ground is near by.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Re-ablement and home from hospital