Karen

About carer ID 718

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 718

Carer name(s)

Karen

This vacancy would suit…

An active person who would like to be supported to become more independent and to become involved in the local community.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Steps/stairs / not wheelchair accessible
  • House on busy road

 

About us

I live in Pinhoe. I want to help other people realise their full potential by learning or developing their skills. I am a caring and kind person with a positive attitude and a sense of fun. I hope to be able to help you to learn new skills and try new activities.

About our house

Our cosy house is a terraced house with level access to the front door, downstairs toilet, a conservatory and yard at the back and stairs up to the three bedrooms. We have a shared bathroom upstairs. The available room is a comfortable double room facing the front of the house and the main road. The bus stop is just outside the house.

Who else lives here?

I live with a person in Shared Lives who has lived here for a number of years. My two dogs and two indoor cats are also part of the household.

What we like to do

We like to walk the dogs in the fields near the house or along the river Exe. We love going to the beach at Exmouth and have fish and chips while we’re there. We also like going to the cinema and 10 Pin Bowling.
My grandchildren often come to visit and we all like to have family birthdays and celebrations together.

My experience as a carer

I am an experienced Shared Lives carer and I have previously worked in social care in the community.

Who we can support

Someone of any age group who would enjoy living in a family environment.
I am very motivated to support people to live as independently as they are able to.
I have the skills to work with people on daily living and towards or maintaining independence.

Anyone who lives here would need to have a degree of mobility due to stairs and steps within my house.

Local area and community

My house is on a bus route into Pinhoe and into Exeter City centre. It’s a busy residential area but the countryside is nearby and easily accessed. There is a swimming pool and a sports centre near the house as well as cafes and shops in Pinhoe and Whipton.
Also pharmacies, pubs, corner shop with Post Office in Pinhoe, hairdressers, local library, social clubs. America Hall is just down the road and they offer tea dances, exercise classes and much more.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult