Kay

About carer ID 429

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 429

Carer name(s)

Kay

This vacancy would suit…

Pet loving individual who wants a short break (either an active person or person with limited mobility).

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible.

 

About us

My name is Kay.  I currently live with my 2 Shared Lives guests and support regular short break guests.

About our house

I live in a large, detached house set in a large garden.  There is a sloping driveway leading to the front of the property with an extensive patio area.  The house is spacious with a wide hallway leading to the upper floor, lounge and sun room with lovely views across the countryside.  The bedroom available for short breaks is a single, upstairs room directly opposite the shared bathroom or a double bedroom on the ground floor.  There is a further separate patio at the rear with a large garden and a garden room.

Who else lives here?

Apart from me and my Shared Lives guests there is a large, gentle dog and 1 cat.

What we like to do

I have an active lifestyle and would enjoy supporting a person who likes walking, shopping and swimming.

Our experience as carers

I have a wealth of experience in care in various settings and am able to offer a range of support to cover most needs.  I am intuitive and sensitive to people’s difficulties, with a humorous outlook on life and a practical, down-to-earth approach to solving problems.  My current Shared Lives guests are working on their independence skills and confidence.  I have worked with them to ensure they can safely access local transport and the local area independently as well as to increase their daily living skills.  I have a flair for supporting and encouraging, breaking down tasks to manageable ‘chunks’ and positively, calmly addressing any issues that may result.

Who we can support

I can support a person for their short break who is less mobile (bearing in mind the driveway and thresholds between rooms although fundamentally the available bedroom and communal rooms are all on one floor)

Local area and community

Kingsteignton has a small shopping centre and supermarkets, there is also an outdoor swimming pool.  You are very close to the town of Newton Abbot where you have a larger town centre, station and bus services to Exeter, Totnes and Teignmouth.  You are also not far from Dartmoor.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Parents with Support Needs
  • Physical disability
  • Re-ablement and home from hospital
  • Sight impairment/loss