Kim

About carer ID 12839

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12839

Carer name(s)

Kim

This vacancy would suit…

Older person or adult with Learning Disabilities and also able to accommodate a person requiring a period of recuperation before returning home from hospital.  Wheelchair user.

This vacancy is…

  • Long term and short breaks

Things to think about…

  • Non-smoking household

 

About us

My name is Kim and I am a very experienced carer with over 20 years’ experience of looking after clients within my own home.

About our house

We have a four bedroom detached bungalow all on ground floor level. We have two bedrooms available for short breaks and the third bedroom which is suitable for either long or short term breaks.
Our bungalow comprises of one wet room which consists of a shower and toilet, one separate toilet, one Reception room and a Kitchen. There is a large paved patio to the rear of the bungalow which has three steps to access. We have a ramp into the bungalow at the front so can be accessible by wheelchair.

Who else lives here?

Lyn my wife who works full time at the local hospital doing admin work.

What we like to do

As I don’t drive, I like to go for walks and taking a stroll into the town.  I also like to eat out on occasions and have a coffee in town.  I do volunteer work for St Margaret’s Hospice.

My experience as a carer

I have been a carer for over 20 years, starting out as a small care home looking after 3 long term clients before becoming a Shared Lives carer.  I have supported several people over the years for short breaks and respite.

Who we can support

People who might be Home from Hospital and need somewhere to stay and be looked after until they are able to return home.

People with learning disabilities and older adults.

Someone with mobility issues.

Emergency and short notice placements

Local area and community

Galmington is just outside the town centre (15 minutes’ walk) and on the bus route.  There are some local shops nearby along with a fish and chip shop and Chinese.  There is a park just off the High Street which we go to on occasions for a walk.  There is a museum which may be of interest.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Learning Disability
  • Older Adult
  • Reablement / home from hospital