Kinny

About carer ID 1296

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 1296

Carer name(s)

Kinny

This vacancy would suit…

Somebody who enjoys the quiet that nature has to offer and being supported in a relaxed environment.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term

Things to think about…

  • Grounds includes pets
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible
  • Rural – isolated

 

About us

Just me, my three sons (23, 20 and 17), their dad, a couple of Shared Lives guests and a few others that live on the land in a cabin/ huts/caravans.

About our house

Our home is a former farmhouse set in several acres with stunning views of the countryside. We are in a rural setting but not far from Buckfastleigh and the A38.

The outdoor areas are not level, so any Shared Lives guest would need good mobility, and there are steps and stairs within the house. The available bedroom is upstairs with a bathroom next door.

Who else lives here?

Apart from us lot, there are two friendly small dogs, a few cats, fish, chickens and ponies here but none of them live in the house.

What we like to do

Most of us here like nature, good weather and walks. I personally love growing our own vegetables and cooking with them as well as swimming and being lazy in the sun. I also love the opportunity of supporting others in exploring and developing their own interests.

My experience as a carer

I have had extensive experience within a fostering role and as a Shared Lives carer promoting people’s independence and well being. I do my best to support individuals in achieving their own goals.

Who we can support

A Shared Lives guest who will benefit from a relaxed environment. Currently, I have a vacancy for a long term Shared Lives guest, but I am also approved for supporting a parent and child placement.

Local area and community

Our home is close to Pennywell farm (which is a family friendly animal sanctuary), South Devon steam Railway, Buckfastleigh Butterfly farm and Otter Sanctuary, and Buckfast Abbey with its superb grounds. We are also on the gateway to Dartmoor.

We are just over a mile away from a bus stop where you have access to Plymouth, Exeter, Ivybridge Totnes and Newton Abbot.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult
  • Parent with Support Needs