Lesley

About carer ID 12493

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12493

Carer name(s)

Lesley

This vacancy would suit…

Someone fairly independent  looking for a seaside short break or respite

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break / Respite

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Wheelchair accessible – wheelchair access via side/rear of property; 4 shallow steps and gently sloping path up to front door; ground floor bedroom/bathroom
  • Other – please state – By the sea but with easy access to countryside and local towns

 

About us

My name is Lesley and I live with my husband Tony and sister Debbie, who has a learning disability.

About our house

We have a spacious, bright and airy house which has been extended by Tony (who is a retired builder). The large kitchen/diner is a relaxing space for both cooking and chatting. The generous respite room has an ensuite with a bath and overhead shower though use of a walk-in shower can be arranged. The garden is large and level and catches the sun!

We would love to offer people a holiday experience and give them a chance to try new activities if they wish.

Who else lives here?

We have a well-behaved dog (a Staffie) called Misty

What we like to do

  • Spending time outdoors when the weather’s good including:
  • Trips to the beach
  • Dog-walks by the sea
  • Theatre
  • Swimming including the open-air pool in the summer
  • Singing as part of a choir
  • At home we enjoy:
  • Painting
  • Relaxing with a good film
  • Spending time with our wider family, including two grand-children

My experience as a carer

I have many years’ experience as a district and specialist nurse and have also supported my sister, Debbie, who has lived with us for most of her life. I also have a brother with a learning disability who lives in supported housing and who I see regularly.

Who we can support

Someone with a learning disability, autism, an older person, someone with a hearing or sight impairment or someone with low mental health needs. We can also consider people with mobility issues. We want to make sure that any matches will work well for Debbie too.

Local area and community

We are very involved in our local community and there are always things to keep us busy! We have a good range of shops and services in Teignmouth and Newton Abbot. Nearby is Bovey Tracey and some lovely riverside walks and access to the moors. We are well-connected by trains and buses.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning Disability
  • Autism
  • Older Adult
  • Hearing Impairment / Loss
  • Sight Impairment / Loss
  • Physical Disability
  • Mental Health