Lynn and Mike

About carer ID 13160

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13160

Carer name(s)

Lynn and Mike

This vacancy would suit…

Anyone, we do like to get out and about and always like to do whatever you like to do (if we can) though wheelchair access is a little tricky and we only have a downstairs toilet.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non-smoking household

 

About us

We are a kind, fun-loving family, with a great sense of humour. We just love doing what we do and love the variety of people who visit us and always feel so lucky that people want to spend time with us and we can bring a smile to their faces.

About our house

We live in a six bedroom house, five minute walk from the vibrant town. We have a tiered garden with a hot tub.

Who else lives here?

We live with our two children (a boy and a girl) who are 19 and 22 years old. We also have three cats and two dogs.

What we like to do

We like to get out and about and always like to do whatever you like to do (if we can). I (Lynn) love going to music festivals, walking the dogs, love a charity shop expedition and eating out, going on picnics. I’m a real animal and nature lover. I also enjoy crafting and Lego. Mike is a builder alongside being a Shared Lives carer. Which he’s done for over thirty years. He also loves darts, walking, building, telling bad jokes!  He also has a lathe and loves to make things on this.

Our experience as carers

We have been Shared Lives carers on and off for 8 years. I (Lynn) have worked in the care sector for over 30 years and I have experience in mental health, autism, dementia and others. I am a very person focused  person. I appreciate how anxious it can be sometimes for people and always put myself in others shoes so to speak.

Who we can support

Anyone, though wheelchair access is a little difficult.

Local area and community

We are near to Glastonbury and street which have varying shops and an outlet shopping center. We have two colleges, a gym, a swimming pool locally and two good bus routes with buses every hour to Bristol. There are local clubs that offer skittles and a disco.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired Brain Injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult
  • Home from hospital
  • Vulnerable Parent
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment