Mandy

About carer ID 1314

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 1314

Carer name(s)

Mandy

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who would like to develop their independence

This vacancy is…

  • Home from Hospital
  • Long Term
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Other considerations

About us

I am a caring, gentle person with a good sense of humour.

About our house

We live in a pretty house that is tucked away in the middle of Saltash.  We have a ground floor bedroom available with a downstairs shower room next door.

Who else lives here?

My mother Mary and her partner and a Shared Lives guest, who is a man in his late 40’s with a learning disability.  We also have two small, friendly sausage dogs and our pretty budgie.

What we like to do

We like to keep healthy and active, getting out in our local area, which is beautiful by the sea and the River Tamar.  We are very interested in eating well and supporting people to make healthy choices.

I try to enable people to develop their life skills, whilst honouring where they are currently at and supporting them to make decisions and choices about how they life day to day.

We are all very friendly and sociable here and would like to welcome someone else into our home to share family life with us.

Our experience as carers

I have had a varied working life.  Mandy was brought to Shared Lives through her work with Mencap, supporting an individual and working in a house with a number of adults together and through family experience of fostering for children with disabilities.

I have also worked as a volunteer advocate.

Our current gentleman has lived with us for almost 9 years now and we have had several other people come and go for short breaks too.

Who we can support

Individuals with learning disabilities, mental health issues, reablement from hospital and physical disabilities.

Local area and community

Saltash is very close to Plymouth but it has a good community feel in its own right.  There are regular buses and trains to and fro. There are lots of shops, cafes, churches and local community groups and activities.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Physical disability