Margaret and Andrew

About carer ID 11331

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11331

Carer name(s)

Margaret and Andrew

This vacancy would suit…

This would suit an active, animal loving person who would like being part of a lively community in a small but busy market town

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

We are a mature couple called Margaret and Andrew. We have two Shared Lives guests staying with us on Short Breaks

About our house

We have a three bedroom detached bungalow. We have one bedroom available for short breaks and a second room that is suitable for either long term or for short term breaks.
Our bungalow comprises of three Bedrooms, two Bathrooms, one Reception room and a Kitchen. There is a large paved patio to the rear of the bungalow. The bungalow has a ground floor bedroom and bathroom. This may not be suitable for someone with mobility issues as there are some steep steps into the bungalow

Who else lives here?

Apart from the two of us and our two Shared Lives guests we have three friendly dogs, a cat, ducks and chickens

What we like to do

Margaret is an active member of the community and has a busy social life. I am a member of the local golf and leisure club. I enjoy:

  • playing darts
  • ballroom dancing
  • Rock and Roll
  • Zumba

Andrew still works as a mechanic but also enjoys tending our allotment and chickens.

Our experience as carers

I have in excess of 40 experience as a health care professional working as a house mother caring for children with, Autism and Asperger’s and as a Health Care/Nursing Assistant in both hospital and residential care settings. This has enabled me to work with a range of service users and their families. I feel I am a kind, warm and gentle person who has a natural ability to make people feel comfortable by demonstrating genuine empathy. I feel that I am person centred in my approach and am prepared to make reasonable adjustments to my home-life in order to meet the Shared Lives guest’s needs

Who we can support

We are very open minded to who we can support, I would suggest having a chat with Shared lives and then maybe a cup of tea visit

Local area and community

Callington has regular community events such as the Bee Festival and carnivals. There is a good range of pubs, shops and plenty of open spaces such as local parks and moorland for walks. Other local facilities include:

  • a memory café
  • Duchy College
  • the library
  • and the Golf and Hotel club where local people can access the gym

There is a bus service to Plymouth.

I am quite proactive and would want to support people to optimise their options with regards to education, leisure or employment and can support the person placed with me to access the facilities in the community

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Older adult
  • Physical disability
  • Sight impairment/loss