Mel

About carer ID 11842

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11842

Carer name(s)

Mel

This vacancy would suit…

A young woman with learning disabilities who is an active person and who would like to be at the heart of a close, caring family.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non smoking household
  • Steps/stairs/ not wheelchair accessible

 

About us

My name is Mel and I live with my husband Wayne, our two sons and our Shared Lives person.

About our house

We live in a large five bedroom house in a quiet residential road. We have an indoor games room and a garden with space to trampoline or play basket ball or just sit chatting.
Our spare room for a new person, is a single room upstairs with an en-suite shower bathroom which is shared with our Shared Lives lady.

Who else lives here?

Our Shared Lives lady has learning disabilities and loves company!
We all love our dog, a Cavachon called Teddy.
Our sons are nearly grown up and like to join in with our activities.

What we like to do

Activities include home life watching TV, playing in the garden, BBQs, having friends to stay, making meals together, dancing, listening to music.

My experience as a carer

We have supported two women with learning disabilities for 20 years in our family. Before this we had a small residential home in Exeter with people with learning disabilities.

Who we can support

Adults with a learning disability who need support with day to day living and activities.

Local area and community

Pinhoe is a lively village with a shop, a couple of cafes and a pub. It’s not far to some big supermarkets and a bus ride into Exeter town centre.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning Disability
  • Hearing Impairment / Deaf (not BSL)