Melissa

About carer ID 13281

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13281

Carer name(s)

Melissa

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who is looking for a relaxed family home where they can develop their skills and achieve their goals.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non smoking household
  • Steps/stairs/not wheelchair accessible

 

About us

My name is Melissa I am the main carer in our house. I live with my husband Daniel, he is a support worker and we have a 2 year old son called Isaac. We also have a dog called Alfie and a cat called Lola. Both myself and Daniel are very close to our families, we like to see them weekly and our family is very important to us.

About our house

We live in a four bedroom house, it has three floors.

Ground Floor – utility room, toilet and washbasin, games room (dartboard, Playstation, board games, TV and DVD player). We enjoy having film nights and playing games.

First Floor – Large open plan kitchen, dining and living area with doors to the rear courtyard garden. There are lovely views of the local park.

Second Floor – 4 bedrooms, the master bedroom has an ensuite and there is a good sized family bathroom.

There is also a pretty small garden out the front of the house, which is lovely in the summer as its south facing so gets lovely and sunny there is also a double drive way and off road parking.

We live in a quiet housing estate Called Iter Court in the small village of Bow. We have lovely views of Dartmoor from our first and second floor windows. Our house is modern and is clean and tidy. It is very homely and comfortable to be in; we are a very fun and friendly family.

Who else lives here?

Myself (Melissa) my husband Daniel and our son Isaac we also have a dog called Alfie and a cat called Lola.

What we like to do

We enjoy dog walks around the village, along the rivers or in the forest. In the summer time we enjoy going to the beach. We like to go out for meals and also enjoy go swimming, bowling and to the cinema. We look forward to a yearly holiday abroad. We also like to spend time with our extended family.

My experience as a carer

Both myself and Daniel have both worked within the care sector for the past fifteen years. My roles have been a support worker where I passed my NVQ level 2 and 3. I became a senior carer and then progressed to a manager of a small supported living unit which I managed for six and a half years before having my son. I also completed my diploma level 5. I provide enabling and respite support for two ladies who have learning disabilities. I have also taken them on holidays. Daniel is a support worker at a supported living home within the village where we live he has a NVQ level 2 and 3.

Who we can support

We have the skills to support anyone, as long they can manage to walk up steps (our house has 3 floors – so there are quite a few stairs). We are a friendly and approachable family, we always do our best to make everyone feel comfortable and at home.

Local area and community

Bow is a small friendly village with lovely country side walks and views. We have a hairdressers, co-op shop and local pub within the village. We are on a good bus route to Crediton and Exeter buses run hourly and are very reliable. Bow also has a community running group for all abilities, a climate change group and a village hall which holds events such as farmers markets.

The next village is Copplestone which is three miles away; it has a train station, which runs regularly services to Exeter or Barnstable or to any other requested stop along the way. Two miles out of the village in Zeal Monachorum there is a family friendly pub, a sports centre, indoor and outdoor play areas and a swimming pool.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Learning Disability
  • Older Adult
  • Vulnerable Parent
  • Physical Disability