Michelle

About carer ID 11655

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11655

Carer name(s)

Michelle

This vacancy would suit…

An active person who would like to be supported to become more independent and to become involved in the local community.

This vacancy is…

  • Long term

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

 

About us

I live in Brixham. I want to help other people realise their full potential by learning or developing their skills.  I am a caring and kind person with a positive attitude and a sense of fun. I hope to be able to help you to learn new skills and try new things

 

About our house

Our house is a mid-terraced Victorian house with steps up to the front door from the pavement.  There are lots of big, light and airy rooms and stairs up to the bedrooms.  There is a patio at the rear.

Who else lives here?

My husband Ray and one young man that lives with us through Shared Lives.  We also have two friendly dogs.

What we like to do

We like to eat together as a family and include any friends or visitors too.  We enjoy taking the dogs for walks locally and keeping active.

We like to go out and about in Torbay shopping, going to the cinema. I also like visiting the beaches and going out for meals.

I also like to upcycle furniture and do craft activities like knitting and crochet

My experience as a carer

I have been a Shared Lives Carer for three years and my mum and auntie have been Shared Lives Carers for more than 30 years and so I was brought up living with people who had additional support needs.

I worked in London in various day service settings and also as an Independent Living Officer.

Who we can support

Someone of any age group who would enjoy living in a family environment.  I am very motivated to support people to live as independently as they are able to, and have the skills to work with people on daily living and towards or maintaining independence.

Anyone who lives here would need to have a degree of mobility due to stairs up to and within my house.

Local area and community

Brixham is a small but lively community by the seaside.  I have lots of links with local people and we’re a friendly bunch.  There are two swimming pools in Brixham. There is one outdoor seawater pool and one indoor heated with lots of facilities for people with disabilities

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Acquired Brain Injury
  • Hearing impairments/deaf
  • Learning Disability
  • Older people
  • Long term
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment