Rosemary

About carer ID 13295

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13295

Carer name

Rosemary

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who would like company and support to live as independently as possible and to get active and involved in the local community. Or someone who would like to come for regular stays in a lively town with lots of lovely local places to visit and things to do.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non smoking household
  • Steps / stairs / not wheelchair accessible

 

About us

Hello. My name is Rosemary. I’m a warm and friendly person, who is looking forward to new challenges in my life. I’ve been a Carer for many years and I have a lovely home that I would like to share with someone else.

About our house

My house is overlooking the sea. There is a large balcony outside my kitchen/diner that catches the sun and is a lovely place to sit and eat and relax and enjoy watching the sea and the sky and the world go by.
I am in a quiet residential area of Paignton and so have friendly neighbours around and the nearest bus stop is just at the end of the road.
My house is on 3 levels; upstairs are the bedrooms – 1 is mine and then there are 2 for people who would like to stay and there is a shared bathroom for those 2 rooms (I have an en-suite). On the middle floor is the sitting room and a second kitchen and sitting area that might be nice for anyone who wants to develop their skills further or entertain family or friends privately.
On the lower floor is the large modern kitchen and dining room and outside decking/balcony area and a utility room and door to the lower garden.

Who else lives here?

Just me and my little dog Barclay. He is 7 years old and very friendly. He might have a little bark when anyone arrives at the door but quickly settles down.

What we like to do

I love my home and cooking from scratch every day. I’m also very keen on crafts and always have a few projects on the go. Things like making candles, decorations, felt scarves and sewing. I would love to be able to include someone in developing their cooking skills and learning some new crafting skills.
I love the outdoor life too as I was brought up in Cornwall by the sea. I like to take Barclay for walks locally, go swimming, snorkelling and have just got into paddle-boarding.
I have a holiday cottage in Brittany, which I try to visit a few times a year for a week or two (when there isn’t a pandemic). I would welcome anyone who came to live with me coming to France so that we can have some fun together.

My experience as a carer

I have over 30 years of experience of working in adult care in a wide variety of settings from domicilary care, where I have supported people in their own homes, residential care, supporting someone who lived with me and my family for 6 years and even working in an Abbey looking after poorly monks. I have brought up two children and they now have their own families. I have also nursed my partner with terminal cancer.

Who we can support

I am approved to support adults with learning disabilities, acquired brain injury, mental health issues, older adults, some physical disabilities, bearing in mind my stairs, people with sensory issues and people who have an autistic spectrum diagnosis.
I am approved to support people for a longer spell or for short breaks and also reablement after a period in hospital before returning to your own home.

Local area and community

Paignton is a lively town with several beaches, cafes, pubs and restaurants. There is a great public library and information centre, a theatre, several parks, a train station which runs ordinary trains and steam trains and a bus station.
There are a lot of local community groups and clubs to explore.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired Brain Injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing Impairment / Deaf
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult
  • Reablement / home from hospital
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment