Ruth and Karl

About carer ID 11992

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11992

Carer name(s)

Karl and Ruth

This vacancy would suit…

Someone who wants to live in a family environment and to be included in the wider community too.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term and Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • No pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible –  there are 9 steps leading from the pavement to the front door. In side the house, there are 2 flights of stairs to reach the bedroom that is available
  • On a bus route

 

About us

Our names are Karl and Ruth and we have a 9 year old daughter who lives with us.  We have a large extended family, which includes our grown-up children Katie and Adam.

About our house

Our home is a semi-detached house with a front and rear garden. All the rooms are light and airy.  We have 3 bedrooms, a family bathroom, a cloakroom, kitchen, dining room and lounge. The room that is available also has an en-suite shower room.

Who else lives here?

Our 9-year-old daughter and Karl’s racing pigeons that live in a loft at the top of the garden.

What we like to do

We enjoy spending time at home in our large garden and having family and friends over for food and “catch ups”. We class ourselves as people who enjoy being home, however, we do enjoy going on holiday and are happy for anyone to join us if they wish.

We both work, and our daughter goes to school, but we are able to be very flexible with our work so that one or both of us is at home most of the time and as would be needed by anyone who chose to come and live with us.

We enjoy day trips out, going swimming, going to the cinema and walking.

Ruth says that her motivation for being a Shared Lives Carer is: I have supported people for the past 28 years and have a passion to “get it right”. I have worked in traditional services that support people with a learning disability and I believe that being able to support someone to share my home would be, for me, the ultimate way to ensure the person is fully included as a full citizen.  If the person wanted, they could become a part of our family, which I would hope, give the person a sense of belonging.

Karl says: I wish to help someone to experience family life, to feel happy and secure. I enjoy helping others to have new experiences, learn new skills and promote their independence.

My experience as a carer

Between us we have over 50 years of experience of supporting people who have a learning disability and/or autism and other related conditions.

We have worked directly with people and also both been managers in various settings, so we have masses of experience.

We have never felt that this is work or a job.  We love being able to support people to grow and develop and to reach their personal goals and have always made this a priority in the way we work with people.

Who we can support

We can support anyone over the age of 18 who has a learning disability and/or autism and other related conditions.

Local area and community

We have a pub “the Kings Arms” on the quay near the Sailing Club. There is a corner shop, hairdressers, florist, wool shop, Methodist Church, primary school, playing fields and Hooe Lake.  It is like living in a village here and there is a real community but we are also very close to Plymouth.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing Impairment / Deaf
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health
  • Older Adult
  • Physical Disability
  • Sight Impairment