Simon

About carer ID 117

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 117

Carer name(s)

Simon

This vacancy would suit…

Animal loving, active individual who is possibly looking to study at Duchy College and who is physically able to access the community on the bus

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible
  • Rural – isolated

Other considerations

This vacancy would suit a male looking for support

About us

Hi I’m Simon, I have been a Shared Lives Carer since  2005. I live on a rural farm near Altarnun with my dogs , cats and horses. My son and daughter live in a cottage on the land and it is very peaceful and quite remote.

About our house

My house is a traditional style detached farmhouse kept cosy in the winter with wood burners. There are 5 bedrooms in the house, and a upstairs and down stairs shower room.  There is a single bedroom available in this Shared lives placement.

I have no neighbours and the property is surrounded by fields and trees. There is a off road track which you can walk to get to the nearest village where  there is a shop, post office, pub and bus stop.

Who else lives here?

I share my home with 1 other person through Shared Lives. My partner Beverly also comes to stay regularly. I have 2 Cats, 3 Dogs and Horses.

What we like to do

We love to spend time outside on the farm with my horses and dogs. We walk  regularly on Bodmin Moor and other local areas. I enjoy cooking for the family, and eating together. I will often meet friends and go to the pub, or out for a meal.

Our experience as carers

I have supported young people for my whole career, from fostering children and young people in transition to now working with adults. I have experience in supporting  people with mental health conditions, ADHD and Autism.  I have  worked with a variety of service users with many different support needs, with a large amount of this experience being working with young men in transition, who have come from foster care or other backgrounds.

Who we can support

I have 2 vacancies for Long term  or short breaks for males with the following support needs.

Mental Health

Learning disabilities

Older Adults

Physical disabilities

Local area and community

The towns of Bodmin and Launceston have a wide variety of shops, swimming pools and gyms as well as all the usual day services and clubs you will find in a large town.

There are regular bus from the nearest village to Launceston and Plymouth.

Duchy college is also within easy distance and there is a college in Launceston.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adults
  • Physical disabilities