Simone

About carer ID 11632

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11632

Carer name(s)

Simone

This vacancy would suit…

Someone with a learning disability or some mental health needs

This vacancy is…

  • Long term

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible
  • Other considerations

Other considerations

Near Exmouth seafront and not too far from town centre.

About us

Hi I am Simone,

I have studied and worked with adults with learning disabilities, mental health, autistic spectrum, various health & care needs for 30 years.

I have 2 daughters, my eldest is 29 and is now a probation officer after doing her degree in Plymouth. J recently got married to her partner who is a police officer. They have a house in Budleigh Salterton.

 

My youngest is 22 and had a baby boy in July, so is on maternity leave, from her work in mental health. Her partner is in the building trade and they live in Exmouth.

About our house

I have a lovely modern 3 bedroom house in a small close in a lovely part of Exmouth. It is 5 minute walk to the beach & 15 minutes to town. Most of the rooms in the house I have decorated, and refurbished / upcycled most of the furniture, making it unique. The back garden i made into a beach theme, even turning the shed exterior into a beach hut.

Who else lives here?

I have a young lady of 28 who also lives here from Shared Lives. There are also two small dogs who love cuddles.

What we like to do

We like to get together as a family at home or out for a meal or a day out. We have visited many places. In last couple of years this has included various animal parks, seaside towns like Sidmouth, Teighnmouth /Shaldon, Lyme Regis etc. We also enjoy walks on the seafront, boat trips, cinema, as well as Shows at Exmouth Pavillion and music playing locally, especially outside when the weather is good.

At home i enjoy cooking, reading, watching TV /Netflix and planning what to decorate next, if furniture needs sanding, painting or decoupage to liven it up. Both spare bedrooms have been done like this.

We also have occasional trips to North Cornwall as i am from Rock /Polzeath, to visit family and go sightseeing.

Recently the lady I support here went to Olu Deniz in Turkey for 2 weeks, as well as Dalyan where my mum now lives with my step dad.

My experience as a carer

I have worked with adults in Health and social care for 30 years. I have a bubbly friendly personality which tends to be infectious. I am passionate about the work I do and am very much for person centred planning, working with the individual to bring out the best in them. I encourage independence and can support with all life, social & living skills. My previous roles have been working one to one with clients, as well as support worker / senior support worker /team leader etc in various roles. I also worked for Devon County Council as an employment advisor for adults with learning disabilities and mental health. I have also worked with clients with various health conditions, as well as dementia and end of life.

Who we can support

Adults with learning disabilities, autistic spectrum, as well as some mental health needs. I  do all I can to promote independence to the individual, with the aim to have their own home one day. I also welcome someone who is unlikely to be able to reach all these skills, so needs a long term home.

Local area and community

Exmouth town has most shops and facilities needed. It has very good transport links, with a bus at the end of the road, as well as a train station in town. There are many shops, cafes / restaurants and public houses. There is more than one sports centre & swimming pool, as well as many other sporting activities.  Pubs hold quiz nights, open mic, as well as various bands and musicians. On the seafront, Ocean has a bowling alley, where they also hold various events, and craft markets etc. There is also the Pavillion for shows and events. There are groups and clubs in Exmouth to suit all interests. There are also classes for adult education and Bicton College is approx 4 miles away. Exmouth also has groups for adults with disabilities, day and night, such as Rainbow, Magic Carpet, coffee mornings etc. Gateway club holds weekly evening social meet ups, with various activities, as well as day trips, weekend’s away and holidays. They also have football teams for ladies as well as men, where they go to other towns for matches.

Contact us now for more details.

 

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Autism
  • Learning Disability
  • Mental Health