Sue

About carer ID 13523

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13523

Carer name(s)

Sue

This vacancy would suit…

A young person, who is looking to develop their skills and is happy to be at home on their own for a few hours whilst I am working.

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term
  • Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • Household including pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps/stair / not wheelchair accessible

 

About us

My name is Sue, I live with my husband Colin.

About our house

We live in a house in Newton Abbot on a bus route. Our house has outside parking, 12 steps leading down to the front door. On the ground floor there is a porch, a hallway leading through to the kitchen diner and a lounge is off to the side. Upstairs there are three bedrooms, two doubles and a single which is my office. Outside there are four steps down to the top patio area and a handy outside loo. You go down more steps onto the decking area and two further steps take you down on the grass area.

Who else lives here?

I live in a house with my husband Colin, two dogs, working cocker Bonnie and cockerpoo Buster. We also have two rabbits, Louie and Rupert. We have a son who is grown up and lives with his partner and their daughter in Paignton. They visit weekly and more during the school holidays.

What we like to do

We love to go on dog walks, we walk our dogs twice a day. We love to go to cafes for coffee and cake or lunches. We love to visit a garden centre (they usually do the best cake). I visit my mum weekly who is in a local care home. We like to do things with my dad who’s nearly 80. He’s quite fit and able. We like to go to local things that go on in the area. We like to go out with our family members and keep my five-year-old granddaughter entertained. We often go on bike rides and go out in the kayaks. We are members of the National Trust and love exploring what they have to offer.

My experience as a carer

My husband and I have spent 12 years as foster carers. We spent 4 years working for a private fostering agency call Pathway Care where I fostered children and also worked on the Child and Parent team. I then moved across to Devon County Council and fostered for them. I spent my time fostering children and being part of the Child and Parent team for many years, doing parenting assessments in my family home. I have worked in the Care Leaving Team too supporting my foster placement for a further two years when she turned 18.

I am a Family Support Worker for a medical school which is based in Exeter. I work Monday to Friday usually from 9am – 4pm. I work from home and manage my own diary. My job is to visit/contact my designated families to ensure things are going well for them and my students and support them if not. I tend to spend about 4-5 hours away from the family home with my school families but I do have admin days where I can be at home for the day too. I only work term times, I get all of the school holidays off. My husband is a teacher at a secondary school in Torquay, he too has all of the holidays off.

Who we can support

Due to my work commitments the ideal match for me would be someone who is quite self-reliant and only needs minimal support. Someone who attends college / work but who needs support in their down time. I am happy to help support a Shared Lives Placement access their own interests and hobbies. My preference is to work with younger people who like being busy.

Local area and community

We live directly on a bus route which will take you directly into town within ten minutes.
We have a train station which is on the bus route to town.
There is a bus station in town where you can access alternative buses and travel to Exeter, Totnes, Torquay, Paignton and other surrounding areas.

The seaside towns of Teignmouth, Shaldon and Torquay are 15 minutes away and Dartmoor National Park is a 30 minute drive.

Newton Abbot has several supermarkets, lots of shops, cafes and restaurants, a cinema, a leisure centre and several gyms and a library. There are lots of clubs and activities in the local area. There are GP surgeries, dentists and a small hospital.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning Disability
  • Parents with Support Needs