Suzanne

About carer ID 12436

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 12436

Carer Name

Suzanne

This vacancy suits

People looking for a seaside short break or respite in Shared Lives

The vacancy is
  • Short break
Things to think about…
  • Household includes pets
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

My name is Suzanne

About our house

My home is a terraced house in the old part of town. There is a small yard at the back where we sit in the summer. Inside, I have comfortable furniture in the lounge and the bright holiday room is upstairs. The large bathroom is also upstairs.

Who else lives here?

I live here on my own but my teenage granddaughters often come to stay in the other two bedrooms. They sometimes come with their friendly dog but if you do not like dogs he will not stay at the same time as you.

What we like to do

I love swimming in the local pool and being out and about in town or shopping in Teignmouth or Exeter.

Our experience as carers

I have many years’ experience working with people who need support in their everyday lives in residential care and supported living.

Now I am a Shared Lives carer I can support people with daily living skills, independence and travel training and the activities that people enjoy or want to learn. There is only room for one person at a time so you will have all my attention!

Who we can support

People with learning disabilities and/or autism. People in recovery from mental health issues. Also older people and people with hearing impairments (I’m sorry I do not sign BSL) looking for a seaside short break or respite in Shared Lives.

Local area and community

My house is at the top of the Strand in Dawlish right in the middle of the old part of town. There is a shop on the corner opposite the house and a pub nearby. The picturesque town centre with its black swans in the stream and the beach are in walking distance.The number 2 bus between Exeter and Newton Abbot is a popular bus route from Dawlish. The number  22 bus from Dawlish to Paignton is also well-used. The very local number 187 is great for a day out to Dawlish Warren and the beach.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Physical disability