Teresa and Rog

About carer ID 11635

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11635

Carer name(s)

Teresa and Reg

This vacancy would suit…

Older person or adult with a learning disability or low level mental health issues

This vacancy is…

  • Daytime
  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

Our names are Teresa and Reg and we live with a Shared Lives guest, we are a mature couple

About our house

We live in a terraced property very near Mount Gould hospital. It is a standard three bedroom house; the bedroom available is fairly compact and would suit someone wanting a short break. We have a downstairs bathroom with a walk in shower. At the back of the property is a small court yard garden

Who else lives here?

Just the three of us

What we like to do

We like to:

  • go to the local social club
  • go for walks
  • eat out occasionally
  • go to bingo with the Shared Lives guest who lives with us

We also like to see our family and friends as well

Our experience as carers

I have worked with people for many years including nursing elderly relatives. I have worked most recently in a supported living house for several adults with a learning disability, sadly this closed down when the owner moved away. My husband Reg was a painter and decorator but currently helps me a lot at home

Who we can support

We would like to support someone who is looking for regular or one off short breaks. I would be happy to meet anyone who would match in to our household and after a cup of tea visit we can then plan the stays. This would suit an older person or an adult with a learning disability or low level mental health issues

Local area and community

Plymouth is a large vibrant city with plenty to do. There are many shops and you can go for marvellous walks around the Barbican and Hoe. There is a smashing bus service both around the city and to surrounding towns, and if you want to venture further afield there is a mainline train station. Apart from the coastal views you are also close to the spectacular scenery of Dartmoor and you are also at the gateway to Cornwall.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing impairment/loss
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult
  • Sight impairment/loss