Trish

About carer ID 11885

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11885

Carer name(s)

Trish

This vacancy would suit…

A pet lover who enjoys living by the sea.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible

About us

My name is Trish. I am a kind, friendly person who enjoys caring and helping people gain confidence and independence.

 

About our house

A comfortable , new build, three bed semi on a small estate. Three steps up to the front door make it unsuitable for wheelchair users .The guest room is light and bright with its own bathroom next door with a shower over the bath. There is use of a walk in shower if needed. The room faces toward a small wood.There is a stair lift .the garden ( still a work in progress) has a patio area which leads down to a small lawn and beds which are a riot of colour in the warmer months .

Who else lives here?

Myself and Gertie the chihuahua and Alfie the yorkshire terrier .Then there is Pussbo and tabs , my ‘temporary’ cats .

What we like to do

I enjoy my home life.

I enjoy most music, although classical is my main fare.

Spending time with family and friends.

Walking and Visiting local areas ,

Having coffee/ lunch out.Garden centres are a guilty pleasure.

I like to do jigsaws and small crafts .

Reading.

Our experience as carers

I trained at Langdon Hospital a facility for people with physical and learning disabilities. I have worked in a variety of care settings. Then for the last 20 plus years, I worked at the RD&E Hospital as an auxiliary nurse. I was also my husband’s main carer for 20 years after he suffered a stroke.

Who we can support

People with physical/learning disabilities.

Brain injured.

Dementia sufferers.

Older people.

Mental health.

Local area and community

Dawlish is a seaside town with lovely level walks along the seafront and to the Warren . It is a 20 minute stroll from my house or five minutes by car. There are cafes , shops, charity shops, churches and a train station too. We are in a great position for going off to the moors, woods and beaches all around. We are also close to places such as Teignmouth, Newton Abbot, Torquay and the city of Exeter. There are various community schemes on the go from lunches at the churches to the Hedley Way Centre offering things as diverse as bingo to poetry. We also have a memory cafe nearby at Teignmouth.

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Acquired brain injury
  • Dementia
  • Learning disability
  • Mental health
  • Older adult