Viv

About carer ID 13263

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13263

Carer name(s)

Viv

This vacancy would suit…

Those who are relatively fit and active looking for a break in a friendly seaside village.

This vacancy is…

  • Short Breaks

Things to think about…

  • Household includes pets – Molly the dog, who is ten years old and nine chickens.
  • Non-smoking household
  • Steps and stairs / not wheelchair accessible – I live halfway up a hill with no parking outside though there is a carpark nearby. The house is over three floors so there are several stairs plus a step into the house.
  • Small Town Location – I live a two minute walk into Looe and five minutes to the beach.

 

About me

Hi! I’m Viv and I live with Molly my dog in a spacious and welcoming home which I’d love to open to others looking for short breaks and/or daytime support. I am also interested in and mother and baby placements.

About my house

I live in a beautifully-presented, fully renovated terraced house in the lovely village of Looe, overlooking the harbour. On the ground floor there is a lounge, dining area and kitchen along with a separate bathroom with wet room. The respite room is a double bedroom upstairs with a bathroom and en suite. I live up on the next landing and there are two further bedrooms. The front door leads straight onto the path and patio outside where there is a table and chairs for relaxing in the summer.

Who else lives here?

Just Molly plus the chickens live in the back garden.

What I like to do

Molly and I are quite active and love to go for walks either in the local countryside or to one of the beaches nearby. We also enjoy going further afield to the moors and discovering new places. Other times, I enjoy going out for coffee or meals or to visit local places of interest. I also wild swim on Looe beach and enjoy kayaking and have a double kayak – you would be welcome to join me for either activity! Molly likes swimming and kayaking too!
At home, I love baking and cooking and spending time with my family and friends. I enjoy sewing and knitting usually during the winter. My chickens are totally free range and just wander about – Blackberry Hen enjoys sitting in the water fountain at the front of the house.

My experience as a carer

I’m a very person-centred carer with experience of supporting individuals with a range of different needs and would welcome the opportunity to enable people to achieve their goals and become more independent. I have also supported children, mothers and babies and adults in fostering and worked for CAFCASS. I have also sailed with the visually impaired.

Who I can support

Adults with learning disabilities, depression, epilepsy, individuals with autism, dementia, acquired brain injury, hearing impairment, vulnerable parent, sight impairment. Mother and baby placements.

Local area and community

The town of Looe has numerous pubs and restaurants, a post office and local hairdressers. It hosts a variety of activities including dance, art, and sport clubs and the annual Ferry Dance and May Fayre. Looe has good bus and train links to Liskeard and Plymouth and has good road links to Plymouth, Liskeard, Bodmin Truro and Exeter. Looe is a coastal town with a pretty harbour and a large sandy beach. From the house we can walk to the beach, the woods as well as stretches of the coast path.

 

Contact us now for more details.

This vacancy is suitable for people with…

  • Learning Disability
  • Acquired Brain Injury
  • Autism
  • Dementia
  • Hearing Impairment / Loss
  • Mental Health
  • Parents with Support Needs
  • Sight Impairment / Loss