Student placement Ashleigh talks about her SLC role with Shared Lives South West

Ashleigh who is doing a Shared Lives Coordinator student placement with Shared Lives South West

We catch up with Ashleigh Burgoyne who is completing her placement as a student SLC with us.


You are a student SLC with us, how long is your placement?

My placement is 70 days and my working days are Mon, Tues and Wed every week until approximately the end of April.

What was it about SLSW that attracted you to working with us?
When allocated SLSW I was dubious of the concept of working with adults as it is a field that I have not explored a lot in my time in social care. However, on researching the organisation and the things that you do I was excited at the prospect of coming to work with you.

It is a new adventure for me and something that I can come in to with a fresh set of eyes in having not done a lot with adult social care. In having previously worked with young people with learning disabilities it excited me to see what happens post 18 and explore the options that they have.

What are you enjoying most about the role and student placement?
I love the front line working that comes with being an SLC within SLSW. A lot of the time social workers do not get an awful amount of time to get to know their case load. However I am so happy to see and be a part of getting to know people and families very well.

Why do you think Shared Lives works as a model of care?
It works well as a model due to the inclusivity of the people being supported. Many people I have met say that they are ‘part of the family’ and that is so lovely to hear! The people within the office also work well as a team to help one another and help those that they are supporting which is lovely to see.

How long have you wanted to work in social care and what inspires you?
I have always worked within the social care world (in the little number of years I have been allowed to work) and have thoroughly enjoyed being at the forefront of supporting people within their daily living. My sister is in care and I have first hand seen some of the bad experiences that inexperienced practitioners can bring to people’s lives and wanted to work to change the stigma.


Outside Shared Lives

Out of your student placement, what do you enjoy doing?
I enjoy spending time with my younger siblings (9,7,6) and spending time with my partner. We like exploring the Cornish coast and popping up to Dartmoor to loose ourselves for a few hours.

Name three things you’d take to a dessert island and why?
My partner as he is much more creative than me! Matches to keep warm and rope as it is always handy in making shelter and fishing!

Where is home for you?
Home for me is two places, West Cornwall is where I have spent the majority of my life and somewhere I will always love. However, County Cork in Ireland will always be my first home. That is where I was born and a lot of my family live. It is a magical place where you can easily loose yourself.

Comments are closed.