About carer ID 11655

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11655

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Hearing Impairment, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Sight Impairment, Acquired Brain Injury, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term & Short Break x2

Location

  • Torbay

About us

About Me: I am a caring and kind person with a positive attitude and a sense of fun. I hope to be able to help you to learn new skills and try new things.

About our house: I live in Brixham. Our house is a mid-terraced Victorian house with steps up to the front door from the pavement. There are lots of big, light and airy rooms and stairs up to the bedrooms. There is a patio at the rear. We also have a ‘Just Next Door’ option off the garden – it’s a small bedsitting room with kitchenette and ensuite shower room & loo. This could be a great opportunity as a stepping stone to independence.

Who else lives here?: Myself and one young man that lives with us through Shared Lives. We also have two friendly French bulldogs. My daughter and 3 young grandchildren visit very regularly.

What we like to do: We like to eat together as a family and include any friends or visitors too. We enjoy taking the dogs for walks locally and keeping active. We like to go out and about in Torbay shopping, going to the cinema. I also like visiting the beaches and going out for meals. I also like to upcycle furniture and do craft activities like knitting and crochet.

My experience as a carer: I have been a Shared Lives Carer for 7 years and my mum and auntie have been Shared Lives Carers for more than 30 years and so I was brought up living with people who had additional support needs. I worked in London in various day service settings and also as an Independent Living Officer.

As a Shared Lives Carer I have successfully supported someone to move on to a more independent setting.

Who I can support: Someone of any age group who would enjoy living in a family environment, or just next door set up, and would like to build on their independence. I am very motivated to support people to live as independently as they are able to, and have the skills to work with people on daily living and towards or maintaining independence. I want to help other people realise their full potential by learning or developing their skills. Anyone who lives here would need to have a degree of mobility due to stairs up to and within my house. They would need to be safe to be at home on their own for up to 5 hours. Due to personal values, this placement wouldn’t be suitable for people who swear or want to engage in sexual relationships (in the house) outside of marriage.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital –
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – varied
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – yes
  • Other supported people – yes