About carer ID 11894

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11894

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Dementia, Hearing Impairment, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Sight Impairment, Mental Health -Section 117, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x2

Location

  • Devon

About us

About me
My name is Debbie and I live with a Shared Lives gentlemen I support long term.

About my house
I have a large ground floor flat at the end of a cul-de-sac. I have two double bedrooms available for short break / respite vacancies.
Although this is a ground floor flat, the door openings and furniture do not allow space for wheelchair access.

Who else lives here?
Apart from the two of us, we have three friendly small dogs.

What we like to do

We like to:
spend time with friends and family
go to car boot sales
and visit garden centres

My experience as a carer:
I have worked as a care assistant in various care settings and, as a manager for a phone centre supporting young adults/teenagers to engage in learning and work. Together with my husband I was a landlord for young adults with support needs, working with the local council.

Who I can support:
I have experience in supporting people with Physical disabilities, Dementia, Learning disabilities, people with Autism and Asperger’s, older people and people with a sight or hearing impairment.

Local area and community:
Dawlish town is a five minute walk away and has places such as:

Arcades
lots of cafés
shops
charity shops
a leisure centre
and a bank
You are also close to the wonderful sea fronts at Dawlish, Teignmouth and Dawlish Warren. The train station is a two minutes’ walk away and there is a bus stop within a minutes’ walk to places such as:

Teignmouth
Torquay
Paignton
Newton Abbot
and Exeter

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital – yes
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – calm/quiet
  • Ground Floor – yes
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – yes