About carer ID 11938

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 11938

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Dementia, Hearing Impairment, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Sight Impairment, Acquired Brain Injury, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term & Short Break x1

Location

  • Devon

About us

The house is large and the living rooms are spacious and open plan and on the first floor. The house lies along a quiet country lane serving just a few properties. A wooden gate electrically operated gives access to the driveway, house and garage. On the ground floor is a spacious double bedroom with ensuite wet room (a room for a service user), another double bedroom and a separate toilet. On the first floor is a further available double bedroom overlooking the front of the property. Iain lives with his wife Gillian, she is a wheelchair user and most of the house and parts of the garden are accessible. The large garden is on a gently sloping site made accessible with sloping paths and steps and has an extensive model railway, with tunnels and bridges going right around the garden, flower beds and vegetable area.

I live with my wife Gill and the two people who we support and two friendly dogs. I have many interests – I walk the dogs, garden and enjoy tinkering with the railway I set up in the garden and I would love to share these hobbies with someone. I enjoy playing cards, reading and spending time with our friends. I have a real fascination for history both modern and ancient Gill works fulltime and in her free time enjoys arts and crafts and makes beautiful teddy bears. Both Gill and I are experienced in care both professionally and in our home with family members. I used to be a paramedic and Gill and I ran a care home. We are looking to support another lady for a short breaks/respite or long term support; someone who likes to be active and involved in family life. The location is semi-rural and is not served by a bus route. Bovey Tracey is quite near and I am happy to drive to local places (Newton Abbot, Ashburton, Dartmoor, Chudleigh are quite close too). Bovey Tracey is quite a vibrant town and there are many clubs and amenities.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital –
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – rural
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – noisy/active
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – yes
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – yes