About carer ID 13269


Carer ID: 13269

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Dementia, Hearing Impairment, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Parent with Learning Disability, Acquired Brain Injury, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x1


  • Devon

About us

About us:
My name is Tracy and I live with my partner Dave. We have 3 grown up daughters, with families of their own and 5 grandchildren who we see as often as we can. I am an experienced carer who has worked within the care industry for many years and am now offering care within my home. I am a kind, friendly person who enjoys helping people get the most out of life by giving them the confidence to do things and be as independent as they can, whilst having the support they need.

About our house:
We live in a semi detached cottage in the rural village of Yettington. It is a small village on the edge of Woodbury Common. We have a south facing front garden which is lovely in the summer sun and a cooler small back courtyard where we have a table and chairs. It is a 3 bedroom property with a downstairs bathroom, a lovely cosy front room with a log burner and views over the fields out back from the bedrooms.

Who else lives here?
Dave (my partner), a lady I support on a long term placement with SLSW and our dog Tia, who is a black and white sprocker. She is a very friendly dog who loves nothing more than to curl up and have lots of fuss with someone when at home and to chase her ball or find every puddle and bit of water when out on our walks.
We do have our grandchildren to stay from time to time.

What we like to do:
I enjoy many different activities and am always willing to try/learn new things.

I love :-

walking Tia (my dog) and finding new places to explore with her.
Arts & Crafts
Listening to music
Seeing family and friends
And when time has allowed I have enjoyed sitting by a lake and fishing for the day.
I am very easy going and just as happy being out on days out and being adventurous as I am having a relaxing day pottering around the house or chilling with a good film.

My experience as a carer:
I have been a carer for many years and have worked in nursing and residential homes, care in the community and been a self employed carer/housekeeper for an elderly lady in her own home. My last job also included me being on call 24/7 to respond to her personal alarm system. During my career I have had the pleasure to care for many people from all walks of life, varying age groups and abilities. I’m a very person-centred carer with experience in supporting individuals with varying needs and would welcome the opportunity to enable people to achieve their goals, become more independent and gain a better quality of life.

Who we can support:
Someone from any age group or gender, who would enjoy a rural setting in a friendly, family orientated, relaxing home. Anyone who would benefit from 1-1 support to either learn new life skills or have the support to gain a better quality of life. I am passionate about encouraging people to maintain their independence and to help them learn the skills and gain the confidence they need to do this in a friendly, supportive environment. I have 1 room available and am happy to do short breaks and respite.

Local area and community:
Yettington is a small friendly village. Our nearerst shop is in East Budleigh which is only a few minutes drive or 15/20 min walk away and here you will find a very friendly shop, pub, village hall and bus stop that can take you anywhere you want. We have lots of lovely walks around here all accessible with a short car journey, Otterton – with it’s beautiful river Otter is only 5 mins away, Ladram Bay is only 7 mins away as is Budleigh Salterton with it’s lovely pebble beach, wildlife area and town. Sidmouth and Exmouth both with lovely beaches, cafe’s shops are both within 20mins drive. We have Woodbury golf and country club within a short journey for golf/swimming/gym etc. Likewise Exmouth and Sidmouth have their own leisure centres too. There are many community groups and clubs to explore within the above mentioned places. Other attractions close by are Bicton Park, Hawkridge bird of prey centre, World of country life,Stuart line cruises, A la Ronde, Sidmouth & Exeter Museum as well as many many more. The city of Exeter is only a half hour car journey away so although we live in a rural area city and town life is only a short car trip away from here.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital – yes
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – rural
  • Smoking – outside
  • Environment – varied
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – yes