About carer ID 13523

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13523

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Parent with Learning Disability, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Long Term & Short Break x1

Location

  • Devon

About us

Sue & Colin My name is Sue, I live in a house with my husband Colin, three dogs. We also have two rabbits, Louie and Rupert. We have a son who is grown up and lives with his partner and their daughter in Paignton. They visit weekly and more during the school holidays.

About our house We live in a house in Newton Abbot on a bus route. Our house has outside parking, 12 steps leading down to the front door. On the ground floor there is a porch, a hallway leading through to the kitchen diner and a lounge is off to the side. Upstairs there are three bedrooms, two doubles and a single which is my office. Outside there are four steps down to the top patio area and a handy outside loo. You go down more steps onto the decking area and two further steps take you down on the grass area.

What we like to do We love to go on dog walks, we walk our dogs twice a day. We love to go to cafes for coffee and cake or lunches. We love to visit a garden centre (they usually do the best cake). I visit my mum weekly who is in a local care home. We like to do things with my dad who’s nearly 80. He’s quite fit and able. We like to go to local things that go on in the area. We like to go out with our family members and keep my five-year-old granddaughter entertained. We often go on bike rides and go out in the kayaks. We are members of the National Trust and love exploring what they have to offer.

A bit about me and Colin I am a Family Support Worker for a medical school which is based in Exeter. I work Monday to Friday usually from 9am – 4pm. I work from home and manage my own diary. My job is to visit/contact my designated families to ensure things are going well for them and my students and support them if not. I tend to spend about 4-5 hours away from the family home with my school families but I do have admin days where I can be at home for the day too. I only work term times, I get all of the school holidays off. My husband is a teacher at a secondary school in Torquay, he too has all of the holidays off.

What sort of person would suit sharing our home? Due to my work commitments the ideal match for me would be someone who is quite self-reliant and only needs minimal support. Someone who attends college / work but who needs support in their down time. I would like to help a person access their own interests and hobbies. My preference is to work with people who like being busy and more active.

My experience as a carer My husband and I have spent 12 years as foster carers. We spent 4 years working for a private fostering agency call Pathway Care where I fostered children and also worked on the Child and Parent team. I then moved across to Devon County Council and fostered for them. I spent my time fostering children and being part of the Child and Parent team for many years, doing parenting assessments in my family home. I have worked in the Care Leaving Team too supporting my foster placement for a further two years when she turned 18.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital –
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – urban
  • Smoking – no
  • Environment – varied
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – unknown
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – yes