About carer ID 13798

SUMMARY

Carer ID: 13798

This vacancy would suit…

Learning Disability, Mental Health, Dementia, Hearing Impairment, Older Adult, Physical Disability, Parent with Learning Disability, Sight Impairment, Mental Health -Section 117, Acquired Brain Injury, Autism

This vacancy is…

  • Short Break Only x3

Location

  • Devon

About us

About us We are Allan and John, and we live in a lovely house in Monkton, Devon. About our house We have large 4 bedroom detached house in the village of Monkton near Honiton. When you approach our home you are greeted with our beautiful gardens and stunning views a plenty. We take great pride in our garden and also have a small hold with 5 sheep who are pets, several call ducks and rare breed poultry.

Our home, is spacious and there is plenty of communal rooms if you wish to have your own company but are always made welcome to join in with activities we are completing. We love to cook, look after our animals as well as going out and about.

We have a regularly serviced stair lift to upstairs as well as stairs.

There are 3 bedrooms available, two single and a double which has a wet room shower and shower seat. Large shared bathroom with step in shower and jacuzzi / therapy bath. Outside are gardens and paddocks and a stream.

Who else lives here?

Jane lives with us who is a family friend and is retired, also our 3 dogs, Benji, Rufus and Bliss.

What we like to do We enjoy walks, baking, cooking, visiting attractions, supporting local events. Going to the beaches that are a short drive away. Cinema, pub lunches-dinners, animals, visiting family and friends, gardening and diy, painting.

Our experience as carers We have both come from a background in Hospitality, which also included working as part of the care sector. Allan until a while ago was registered carer for his mother in law and involved in charity work which included vulnerable adults and disabilities.

John has family members with disabilities and hands on experience with autism and other conditions.

We always make any visitors welcome and enjoy meeting new people. Who we can support People with dementia, autism, Asperger’s, mental health, physical disabilities, learning disability, visual, acquired brain injury, hearing impairment, older adult, parent with learning disabilities, sight impairment, home from hospital/reablement,… short and long stays, Shared Lives carer respite.

Local area and community Honiton is about 1 mile down the road and has multiple shops, bars, restaurants, coffee shops galore, leisure facilities, public transport services, entertainment venue, hospital minor injury only, GP surgery, pharmacies, places of worship, library, vets, train station with links to Exeter and London and beyond.

Our home is on the A30 so walking from our home is not safe so we would always happily drive you to your destination as we both drive.

Household considerations

  • Home from hospital – yes
  • Pets – yes
  • Geography – rural
  • Smoking – unknown
  • Environment – calm/quiet
  • Ground Floor – no
  • Wheelchair Accessible – no
  • Young children – no
  • Other supported people – no